Haenertsburg was born in the Gold Rush days and is now more than 125 years old but it has certainly not been left off the map. The village, named after Carl Ferdinand Haenert who hailed from Eisenach in Germany has seen its fair share of excitement and romance, including the Makgoba War and the Anglo Boer War. The township of Haenertsburg was proclaimed on September 13, 1887 and was measured out in Cape Feet with each erf being only 50 sq feet – enough space to put up a tent or a small shack. In 1890 a census showed that Haenertsburg had 186 inhabitants of which 16 were adult women and 131 adult men.
Today Haenertsburg has a population of about 500. It has three churches – the Mount Carmel Catholic Church, St Paul's Church (inter-denominational) and the Haenertsburg Christian Church. Haenertsburg has a colorful history Visitors can visit the open-air museum in Mare Street above the Municipal Offices.
Various books has been written by local historian Louis Changuion and are available at the memory Hold-the-door book shop in Rissik street.
Descriptive plaques tell the history of the area dating from the Makgoba War to the Anglo-Boer War and the more recent involvement in the Border Wars of the 1970s. There are also remains of the last Long Tom gun. A collection of memorabilia including items from the Anglo Boer-War can be seen in the museum at the Pennefather Complex.
For the energetic the Louis Changuion Hiking Trail offers an exhilarating walk through the unique Haenertsburg Grasslands. The cemetery above the village is also worth a visit. Not only is the view of the surrounding area spectacular but there are many but this is where many of the pioneers of the area were laid to rest.